# **City Council**

## Monday 22 November 2021

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs Beer, Chair.

Councillor Mrs Bridgeman, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Dr Buchan, Burden, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Cresswell, Dann, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hulme, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Vincent, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Dr Cree, Hendy, Loveridge and Lowry.

The meeting started at 1.45 pm and finished at 2.00 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <a href="https://www.plymouth.gov.uk">www.plymouth.gov.uk</a>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

## 31. **Declarations of Interest**

The were no declarations of interest made by councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

### 32. Freedom of the City

Councillor Kelly (Leader of the Council) introduced the nomination for Mark Ormrod MBE to be bestowed the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Evans OBE (Leader of the opposition).

It was <u>agreed</u> that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(I) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers the title of Freeman of the City in recognition of his eminent services to the City of Plymouth and his charity work.

For (53)

Councillors Allen, Mrs Aspinall, Bingley, Bowyer, Mrs Bowyer, Mrs Bridgeman (DLM), Dr Buchan, Burden, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Collins, Corvid, Cresswell, Dann, Deacon, Derrick, Downie, Drean, Evans OBE, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hulme, James, Mrs Johnson, Jordan, Kelly, Laing, Dr Mahony, McDonald, Morris, Murphy, Neil, Nicholson, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Vincent, Wakeham, Mrs Watkin, Wheeler and Councillor Mrs Beer (LM).

Against (0)

Abstain/Not present (4)
Councillor Dr Cree, Hendy, Loveridge and Lowry.